Over-The-Top Love Poem

Over-The-Top Love Poem

When you come back to me, my mouth will open
to speak, but only dogs will hear my delight.
But the pleasure on my face will be visible
from the third moon of Saturn and they who live
there will know there is love on this planet.

When you return, the trees will begin to bud
and bear fruit even in the dead of Winter.
And they will uproot themselves and walk
beside us, granting shade when it is needed
and beds of leaves the color of fire to lie upon.

When you come home, the birds will sing your name
in 37 different languages, all with perfect accents,
and they will spell it out in avian cursive in a sky
so blue it will make you feel as if you might drown.

When you come back to me, the past will taste sweet
like strawberries laid upon your tongue,
and all poems written will be to the glory of you,
and every one will end with a single word: Amen.

Paul Scot August

Published in Scribble Magazine Vol 8-1

8 Responses to “Over-The-Top Love Poem”

  1. Jill Johnson Says:

    I’d like to see this one read… I love reading this. Makes me smile. 🙂

  2. Damn, son. So lovely.

  3. Just heard this on NPR and I absolutely love it! Made me smile as well.

  4. I admire all of your work.. This one here, I know the power it took to write this master piece, Bravo, and thanks, much appreciated…

  5. These are awesome!
    So good!

    When you come back to me, the past will taste sweet
    like strawberries laid upon your tongue,
    and all poems written will be to the glory of you,
    and every one will end with a single word: Amen.

    These lines are the best.

Leave a Reply

