The Next Big Thing

The Next Big Thing

Christina Lovin, author of the book A Stirring in the Dark (Old Seventy Creek Press, 2012) was good enough to tag me in the blog chain that is going around known as The Next Big Thing interview project. Thank you Christina! Here are my responses to the self-interview based on my (hopefully, someday) forthcoming full-length book of poetry Apologizing to Fish.

What is your working title of your book?

My first full-length manuscript is titled Apologizing to Fish. It is currently making the rounds at a whole bunch of poetry book contests and I hope it grows-up soon from a manuscript to an actual book.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

After several years of writing, revising, and publishing individual poems, themes and patterns presented themselves until it began to look like a book. The title of the manuscript comes from a poem I wrote about going fishing with my father and my son.

What genre does your book fall under?

Oh, it’s definitely poetry.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Ethan Hawke and Julie Delpy for the love and relationship poems. Robert Duval to play the speaker’s father. Kathy Bates to play the speaker’s mother.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Narrative Explorations and lyrical bursts concerning dead and dying railroads, towns, parents, and relationships.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Well, hopefully it will win a contest and be published by a reputable press.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I think after about three years of writing and revising and publishing this group of poems, I felt it was time to compile them into a book.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I wouldn’t compare it to other specific books of poetry, but I would say certain books that I read during this time period gave me inspiration and pushed me to craft better poems than had I not read them. Other poets are my teachers.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

While writing this collection of poems, I was reading and constantly returning to poetry by James Wright, Richard Hugo, Larry Levis, James Harms, Robert Wrigley, Keetje Kuipers, B.H. Fairchild, Dorianne Laux, Kim Addonizio and many others. They were both inspiration and poetry guides.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

The amazing cover, which doesn’t yet exist outside of my head. For the book which doesn’t yet exist. But *I* believe it will, and it will be amazing, this cover. Trust me. You’ll love it.

***************************

Some other writers and poets I have chosen to “tag” and who will posting their responses at the links below:

P.J. DeGenaro’s blog can be found here.

Terry Lucas’ blog can be found here.

Christi Craig’s blog can be found here.

Johanna C. Dominguez’s blog can be found here.

3 Responses to “The Next Big Thing”

  1. Love the one sentence synopsis, and I know it’ll be a great book. Thanks for the tag.

  2. paulscotaugust Says:

    Thanks! No, it’s one of their free themes…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

